Review: City Of Bones

City Of Bones – Cassandra Clare

Synopsis20170324_144014

When fifteen-year-old Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder― much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons. Then the body disappears into thin air. It’s hard to call the police when the murderers are invisible to everyone else and when there is nothing―not even a smear of blood―to show that a boy has died. Or was he a boy?

This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. It’s also her first encounter with Jace, a Shadowhunter who looks a little like an angel and acts a lot like a jerk. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in ordinary mundanes like Clary and her mother? And how did Clary suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

My Thoughts

City Of Bones (the first book in the Mortal Instruments series) is my first ever reread. I had never read a book more than once before last month. The thing is, I originally read this book when I was about 16 so at least 5 years ago and while reading through once more I couldn’t remember much of the book at all. I remembered the Characters and a few details like the Vampires and Werewolves, Magnus Bane, the end plot twists but had completely forgotten some major details that you’d think I wouldn’t. Anyway, for that memory lapse on my part I am really glad I reread this book because I loved it. When I originally started the series when I was 16 I lost concentration for it quite easily and stopped after about 100 pages of the 2nd book but with a new found love of fantasy over the last year I think I’ll actually be able to complete the series and continue onto the other Shadowhunter books!

This book is quite a fun read, okay it has some annoying tropes like the unremarkable girl who thinks little of herself, the broody male MC who she’s to fall for and the best friend in love with the MC but, that doesn’t take away from how fun it is. I’ve seen a lot of people slate City Of Bones for taking lots of little bits from other books and films and throwing them in to the book but that not easy to avoid when nearly every story is recycled in a new way (probably why Fairytale retellings are so popular right now), I can see where these people are coming from but the book is still a good one.

It has good character development which I can only imagine will continue in the other books and the plot twists you may see coming but they’ll still get a gasp out you when they are revealed. Some parts are sweet, some tragic but with plenty of funny moments too. This is a great read if you like fantasy that mixes demons, werewolves, vampires, warlocks and fairies (alas no dragons)… So all the usual stuff you’d find in a book aimed at teen fantasy readers that can be read by anyone!


Until next time folks, enjoy your reading!

Rachel x

Leave a Reply

